COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE



For immediate release 2 December 2004

European States reduce 2005 route charges

Brussels, Belgium – the EUROCONTROL Member States submitted their unit rates for 2005 at a meeting held at the Organisation's premises on 24-25 November. The new unit rates will come into effect on 1 January 2005.

Member States provide air traffic control facilities and services to ensure the safe, efficient and expeditious flow of air traffic through their airspace. They recover the costs of providing these facilities and services by means of route charges levied on users of their airspace. This charge takes into account the distance flown and, less than proportionately, the aircraft weight.

For 2005, the average unit rate of 32 States is to decrease by 7% to \in 58, from \in 62.28 in 2004.

"These figures are most welcome", said Victor M. Aguado, Director General of EUROCONTROL. "They are the result of the cost-containment measures taken by European States and air navigation service providers and of a sustained return to traffic growth. They will contribute to reduce airline costs and will help make the air traffic management industry more effective and responsive to the needs of users."

The EUROCONTROL Commission is expected to approve the list of unit rates, for publication in the various Member States, in the coming weeks.

Note to editors:

European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation

Organisation européenne pour la sécurité de la navigation aérienne

Rue de la Fusée, 96 B- 1130 Bruxelles Tel: +32.2.729.90.11 Fax:+32.2.729.90.44 EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, has as its primary objective to develop a seamless, pan-European air traffic management (ATM) system fully capable of coping with the constant growth in air traffic, while maintaining a high level of safety, reducing costs and respecting the environment.

EUROCONTROL has 34 Member States: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

On 8 October 2002, the Member States and the European Community signed a Protocol on the Accession of the European Community to the revised EUROCONTROL Convention. Pending its entry into force after



COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE

ratification by all Parties, certain provisions of the Protocol are already being provisionally applied.

For further information, please contact: Lucia Pasquini or Kyla Evans Tel. : +32 2 729 3420 / 5095 Email : press@eurocontrol.int or For more information: www.eurocontrol.int